How much priming sugar when bottling?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by newk340, Mar 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newk340

newk340 Initiate (0) May 29, 2010 Wisconsin

This is definitely a noob question, but I have 5oz of priming sugar for a 5gal batch. Last batch I did I used all 5oz and had bottles that enjoyed foaming over upon opening. Just curious as to how much I should use and if I should partition it out into the bottles or just pour it into the batch, stir it, then bottle? Thanks for the helpful comments!

2. emilystrikesagai

emilystrikesagai Initiate (0) Dec 20, 2011 Illinois

I'm a novice with only 3 brews under my belt but I've always used 5oz. for 5 gallon batches (except when I used honey for a 1 gallon batch). I never had a problem with over carbonation, but I brewed stouts so maybe the heaviness worked well with the amounts?

I wouldn't put it directly into the bottles. You should have some kind of bottling bucket to dissolve the sugar into with some hot water (make sure the bucket is sanitized), and then bring the beer from the fermenter into the bucket. Then siphon into bottles.

3. humanjoe

humanjoe Pundit (971) Aug 26, 2004 Connecticut

Here's a great chart for figuring out how much priming sugar.

http://www.howtobrew.com/section1/chapter11-4.html

As for method, when I used to use priming sugar I always boiled the sugar with a little water, poured it into the bottom of a bottling bucket and then racked the beer on top. I then would give it a real gentle stir and then bottle. Now when I bottle I use prime tabs which puts a little priming sugar into each bottle.

4. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Grand Pooh-Bah (3,181) Dec 15, 2005 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

Here is a handy priming sugar calculator: http://tastybrew.com/calculators/priming.html

The concept is that different beer styles ‘benefit’ from differing carbonation levels.