Bottled Water vs. (Hard) Tap Water

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by bossfan23, Dec 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bossfan23

bossfan23 Initiate (0) Mar 26, 2012 Iowa

Do you use bottled water or tap water when brewing?

We have very hard water in the area I live, so I have been debating using bottled water. I have not yet made my first batch of beer, as I am just getting into homebrewing, so that is why I ask.

Any advice on this front?

2. nathanjohnson

nathanjohnson Initiate (0) Aug 5, 2007 Vermont
    Deactivated

Are you planning on using extract? If so, use bottled water, preferably RO water, or distilled. The extract already contains minerals, so when you rehydrate the extract, you are adding even more minerals. The mineral content of bottled water can vary significantly, so it's better to use reverse osmosis or distilled water, which have near zero, and zero minerals, respectively.

inchrisin likes this.
  3. billandsuz

billandsuz Pooh-Bah (2,023) Sep 1, 2004 New York
    Pooh-Bah Society

water is absolutely one of the most important ingredients in brewing. most all of the beer styles we have today are due to the local water the brewer had available. certain water profiles make certain beers. your hard water (a very general description for a brewer) will likely work well with an IPA or assertive ale. not so good for lagers (and you'll want to stick with ales for the first few beers for a variety of reasons).

first and foremost though, especially for a new brewer, if the water you have available is good to drink, then it is good for brewing. i suggest you use your tap water for the first few batches, pay attention to the process, get your fermentation regime settled, understand wort boil and chilling, get racking and bottling down and figuring out how all the ingredients make a difference.