Amarillo Pale ale additions

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by montman, Feb 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. montman

montman Maven (1,410) Mar 10, 2009 Virginia
    Trader

I'm still a beginner homebewer (less than 10 batches thus far) and as a gift I received the MW supplies Amarillo Pale ale extract kit.
    I would like to use this kit however we recently brewed a pretty mild tasting pale ale and was looking for some suggestions to make this one a bit stronger.
    Any suggestions on what adddional hops I can/should add to give this one a little more bite? I'm sold on dry hopping too, maybe more amarillo but I'm open to any thoughts from you guys with more experience.
    Thanks

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Grand Pooh-Bah (3,043) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

What are the ingredients/recipe in the kit, and what kind of hop flavors do you like?

3. montman

montman Maven (1,410) Mar 10, 2009 Virginia
    Trader

The kit instuctions contain/advise: 1/2 oz. Columbus 60min, 1 oz. Amarillo hops 40 min, 1oz Amarillo 20 min
    Recently I seem to be drinking more citrusy, resiny types, but really I'd be open to whatever works well together, I'd just like to make a little hoppier tasty beer.

4. kjyost

kjyost Initiate (0) May 4, 2008 Canada (MB)

I'd change the recipe up by adding another 1/2 oz of Columbus (or a little less) at 60.

Add your 1 oz of Amarillo at 10 minutes at flameout (steep for 10 minutes). I would consider adding a bit of Columbus if you like piney (maybe buy two ounces, add 1/2 @ 60, 3/4 @ 10, 3/4 @ Flameout). I do though love an all Amarillo beer.

5. rmalinowski4

rmalinowski4 Initiate (0) Oct 22, 2010 Illinois

Citra works well with Amarillo. I agree with kjyost, equal parts of the Amarillo at 10 min and at flame out.

6. wspscott

wspscott Pooh-Bah (1,934) May 25, 2006 Kentucky
    Pooh-Bah Society